h1

That Son-of-a-… I mean… Southern Lubber

July 28, 2008

So – I had to share this all on it’s own, because it certainly is worthy of it. Meet my new friend: Southern Lubber. I had to look it up, and this is what I believe is commonly referred to as a Southern Lubber Grasshopper, or if you’re actually from the south, you just call it a “Big Ass Grasshopper”:

Get close – does he not look like he’s talking!? I swear he’s saying “What YOU doing on my walkway?!” Make no mistake, if he looks small it’s b/c you *think* he’s small – but he’s as long as a brick is wide. Hes HUGE in other words. He was as long as my foot was wide. And I know this because HE stepped on ME.

Gosh, I just can’t get enough of this big fella. I mean, I’m sure in some country somewhere, this is like a TBone Steak size grasshopper! (Which, BTW, I actually have eaten chocolate covered grasshoppers before, ewwww. And NO they’re NOT good!)

Ok, ok, last one… I promise, then we can go back to business as usual:

Ok, so to *me* it looks like he’s just talking in one pic, and he’s screaming in another. Apparantly, my friends disagree & they say that’s a clue I’m under far too much stress when I imagine bugs yelling at me. *shrug*
But – I do admit, I failed to get a picture of the black widow we found on our window (don’t worry – she was on the outside & I didn’t smash the window to pieces).

2 comments

  1. Okay, you are KILLING me here! You know I’ve been stalking this website waiting for photos to be posted…and you know I got VERY excited when I saw OUR grasshopper pictures pop up! But where is my pretty girl???
    Refresh, refresh…AH! There she is! Adorable. Can’t wait to see MORE!!
    Thanks!


  2. Ok, I have to say, those are disgusting! I saw them while in FLorida when we were headed to ORlando at one of the rest stops, they were everywhere. I had to stop and photograph them too cause they freaked me out! 🙂



Leave a Reply

